Matisyahu in Bonnaroo

crowd

My sources tell  me that the Shabbat program with Matiyahu was a huge success.  His concert was pure soul, Jewish universal telling everyone about God and the world, and unabashedly Jewish. its was a proud day to be a Jew.

more

Posted on June 18, 2006, in Jewlish, News and politics. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. BS”D
    Shalom,
    I was mazeldik to get several tickets to S”D
    Shalom,
    I was mazeldik to get several tickets to Matisyahu in Tel-Aviv ,Motzei Shabbos,a week ago. Listening to him made me feel as though I was seeing and hearing a perfectly tuned Stradavarius played by a master. His voice is that pure and the addition of a horn player was genius.
    I have been working in Kiruv for over 40 years and his brilliance certainly shined both melodically and lyricly. However, what separates the great from the near great is the interaction between the person doing the outreach and those to whom he is attemptuvaing to reach. I had 5 baalei tschuvah & 3 prospective kiruv assets with me. All these kids wanted was to say thank you to Matisyahu. They patiently waited for almost an hour watching othersMatisyahu in Tel-Aviv ,Motzei Shabbos,a week ago. Listening to him made me feel as though I was seeing and hearing a perfectly tuned Stradavarius played by a master. His voice is that pure and the addition of a horn player was genius.
    I have been working in Kiruv for over 40 years and his brilliance certainly shined both melodically and lyricly. However, what separates the great from the near great is the interaction between the person doing the outreach and those to whom he is attemptuvaing to reach. I had 5 baalei tschuvah & 3 prospective kiruv assets with me. All these kids wanted was to say thank you to Matisyahu. They patiently waited for almost an hour watching others enter and exit. When we reache d the door, he and not some person working for him looked at and told someone in the room to close the door with such disdain, I felt we had invaded the privacy of a Prince. Kiruv is difficult enough, but undertaking it with half a heart is worse. We just found one of the people whom we persuaded to stay on the derech after several days. The remaining kiruv workers to be and baalei tschuva are just stunned, as, truthfully, am I. Perhaps I expect too much, but if you are part of kiruv, your “door” must be open to the world. I have watched The Lubavitcher Rebbe, TZAL, R’ Shlomo Carlebach from whom I learned so much about kiruv, Breslover Chassidim all over the world and many others in between. What makes a great person is not his voice or the talent that Ha Sh-m gave him, but rather the ability to touch the neshama of another and guide it towards Torah. Closing doors on those who seek strength and truth is not good. Dam L’Schaf Skuss, perhaps he just had a really tough week. It is difficult to have a 4 month old baby. I hope that someones makes sure his fame does not cancel out his humility and ability to reach young people in a way I have not seen in 35 years. It would be sad to see his real talent, bringing people closer to Ha Sh-m, forgotten.

Leave a Reply

