Sound of the Shofar

Thirty days before Rosh Hashanah, the sound of the shofar can be heard. It’s the world’s most ancient alarm clock.

“Get off your tush, take an accounting of life, dude.”

And I start to think. Where am I? Am I in a rut. Am I lost. Where exactly do I think this will get me. Does this path lead to honor  or integrity. How can I maintain my sense of self. Am I all about myself. Do I care enough about those around me. Do I show my love for those that are kind to me. What does God think of me, and what I am, and what I am becoming. What do my great-grandparents think as they look on at my life. Are they proud of me. What can I change and what should I maintain. Its only thirty days before Rosh Hashanah, the clock is ticking, the sand is falling through the hourglass. Wow, is there a lot of work to do.

Posted on August 25, 2006, in Judaism. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

